The smarter E AWARD – Championing the Energy Game-Changers

Focusing on intelligently connected concepts and solutions for the efficient generation, storage and use of energy, The smarter E is the world's leading exhibition and conference series for the new energy world. The innovation hub unites the four exhibitions Intersolar, ees, Power2Drive and EM-Power to take an in-depth look at cross-sector solutions and technologies for an intelligent, sustainable and cost-effective energy supply.

This cross-sector approach can only be driven by innovations. This is why The smarter E AWARD shines a spotlight on solutions and concepts that draw on renewable energy, decentralization, and digitalization to intelligently connect all aspects of energy in the electricity, heating and transportation sectors. Outstanding Projects recognizes realized projects undertaken in the areas of solar, storage, energy management and clean transportation.

Outstanding Projects as category of the The smarter E AWARD

Category Outstanding Projects

Innovation is driven by role models and pioneers. That is why we are looking for outstanding projects or products that have been incorporated into a global project in the field of renewable energies. The projects need to be exemplary for global future applications, unique in their expression and realization, and must have been fully completed between February 2021 and February 2023.

The smarter E AWARD in the category Outstanding Projetcs honors realized projects in:

  • Energy storage (with/without PV)

  • Grid infrastructure and solutions for the integration of renewable energies

  • PV applications (residential, industrial and commercial use)

  • Solar thermal applications

  • Energy management/energy services

  • Decentralized energy systems

  • Utility-scale projects

  • Energy autonomous regions

  • Micro-grid solutions

  • Off-grid solutions

  • Charging infrastructure/e-mobility

  • Green Hydrogen

  • Sector coupling (electricity, heat and mobility)

  • Others


  • Maschinenfabrik Reinhausen GmbH (Germany): FlexNet-EkO
  • (re)energisa (Brasil): Vila Restauração – Amazon Microgrid: Clean and reliable energy for all
  • Wallbox Charger (Spain) Sirius by Wallbox

Read more abou the winners at the HALL OF FAME

The smarter E AWARD Finalists 2023

The smarter E AWARD Finalists 2023 are:

  • Fluence Energy, LLC
  • HPS Home Power Solutions AG
  • Maschinenfabrik Reinhausen GmbH
  • Reenergisa
  • Sungrow FPV SCI & TECH Co., Ltd.
  • Wallbox Charger SL

All about the AWARD Finalists 2023

Testimonials of The smarter E AWARD

Nina Römer & Julia Strahlhoff
Stakeholdermanagement & Development DA/RE platform, TransnetBW GmbH
The smarter E AWARD Winner 2022

"We are very proud that our IT platform DA/RE has been awarded the smarter E AWARD 2022. Winning the award rewards the hard work and enthusiasm the whole team put into this long-term project. This shows the innovative strength and the close cooperation at eye level between the grid operators TransnetBW and Netze BW in the development and implementation of the DA/RE platform. We were particularly pleased that the jury described our project as "extremely smart", "extremely logical" and "highly applicable" and recognized its importance for the energy transition in terms of grid stabilization and security."

Stephan Schindele
Head of Product Management Agri-PV, BayWa r.e.
The smarter E AWARD Winner 2021 – Smart Renewable Energy

"We are honored to be recognized by The smarter E Award 2021 for our Agri-PV solution. Winning the award not only proves that our work is among the best in the industry, but also that innovations like Agri-PV play a crucial role in the successful implementation of the energy transition globally. We have spent a lot of time and money in the development of this project, and it is great that our effort was now recognized by the jury. This gave us a lot of tailwind for the discussion with politicians and stakeholders to further increase the awareness of our win-win solution."

Martin Hackl
Global Director Solar Energy, Fronius International GmbH
The smarter E AWARD Winner 2020 - Smart Renewable Energy

„Winning The smarter E AWARD 2020 increased the awareness of our Solhub, a system solution for producing, storing and using green hydrogen. It is the perfect decentralized refuelling station for ecologically produced, green hydrogen, in particular for heavy-goods and long-distance transport. Companies and other organisations can produce their own green hydrogen from solar and wind power and power their vehicles using fuel cells without producing any emissions."

The smarter E AWARD 2019_Siemens Tesimonial_Sajjad Khan

Sajjad Khan
Galapagos General Project Manager, Siemens AG
The smarter E AWARD Winner 2019 – Outstanding Projects

“The smarter E Award is a great recognition for our pioneering hybrid solution based on 100% renewables on the Galápagos Islands. It underlines the future-proof approach of this first of its kind local energy system, which replaces diesel and eliminates the associated environmental risks. And, of course, it pays great tribute to all our colleagues worldwide who contributed to the project’s outstanding success.“

Evaluation Criteria The smarter E AWARD

A. Pioneering Character (30%)

  • Exemplary effect of the project and the impact on the use of renewable energy

B. Uniqueness (15%)

  • Uniqueness of the project compared to existing solutions and applications

C. Economic Benefits (10%)

  • Economic benefits for the owner or operator of the project
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

D. Benefits for the Environment and Society (10%)

  • Environmental benefits and socially relevant features

E. Degree of Technological Innovation (20%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Technological creativity and quality

F. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Completeness and conclusiveness of the proof

G. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentation
  • Extent of application documentation

The smarter E AWARD Jury

Jonathan Gifford as member of the The smarter E AWARD Jury

Jonathan Gifford
Editor in Chief - pv magazine global edition
pv magazine group GmbH & Co. KG

Nina Munzke as member of the The smarter E AWARD Jury

Nina Munzke
Team Leader Stationary Storage Systems
Karlsruhe Institut of Technology (KIT)

Hans-Christoph Neidlein
Senior Editor at pv Europe
Alfons W. Gentner Verlag GmbH & Co. KG

Camila Ramos as member of the The smarter E AWARD Jury

Camila Ramos
Managing Director
CELA - Clean Energy Latin America

Prof. Narendra Shiradkar
Associate Professor & In-charge, PV Reliability Group, National Centre for Photovoltaic Research and Education (NCPRE), Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Dr. Sean White as member of the The smarter E AWARD Jury

Dr. Sean White
Professor & IREC Certified Master Trainer
Diablo Valley College & White House Solar

AWARD Ceremony

Every year, the official AWARD Ceremony reveals the AWARD winners on a grand stage. The ceremony is attended by high-caliber dignitaries and brings together visitors, exhibitors, representatives and decision-makers from the international renewable energy industry, as well as national and international press representatives. 

The presentation of the 2023 award winners took place as part of The smarter E Europe in Munich on June 13, 2023.