The smarter E AWARD – Category: E-Mobility

Power2Drive seeks to promote a new kind of mobility with the entire range of industry innovations. Power2Drive, the international exhibition for charging infrastructure and e-mobility in connection with renewable energies puts the spotlight on technologies and business models that make the new kind of mobility a sustainable experience today and in the future.

This is why The smarter E AWARD in the category e-mobility honors companies that make a key contribution to the industry’s success. Every year, the innovation prize for electromobility and charging infrastructure recognizes technical innovations and pioneering solutions in the AWARD category of e-mobility.

Electromobility has become increasingly established for private transport in recent years, and the industry has been producing a wide array of innovations. This is why it is high time to present an AWARD that gives these innovations the attention they deserve.

How to participate

Innovating the Mobility Transition

Electromobility innovations are driving the modernization of both the energy and the mobility transition around the world. The e-mobility category of The smarter E AWARD seeks to honor those industry innovations which have already made an important contribution to an intelligent, sustainable mobility transition with their concepts and technologies.

Technologies and Topics

The following types of innovations are eligible for the AWARD:

  • Charging infrastructure / charging stations
  • Electrical vehicles (BEV, PHEV, FCEV)
  • Traction batteries
  • Mobility services
  • Other
Evaluation Criteria
  • Degree of technological innovation (30%)
    • Technological advancement
    • Technological creativity and quality
    • Singularity in comparison with other solutions
  • Technical and environmental benefits (20%)
    • Technological benefits
    • Environmental benefits and socially relevant features
  • Safety I standards (15%)
    • Compliance with international safety and technical standards
  • Economic benefits (20%)
    • Cost benefits
    • Demand, markets and marketing strategy
    • Pricing
  • Proof of innovation (10%)
    • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references
  • Quality of presentation (5%)
    • Format and quality of description and presentation
    • Extent of application documentation


Markus Emmert
Member of the board, Head of BEM working groups
German Federal Association for eMobility

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Fichtner
Executive Director & Head of Solid-State Chemistry
Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) &
Research Unit Energy Storage Systems
Institute of Nanotechnology, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Campus North

Dr. Renée Heller
Professor of Energy and Innovation
Centre of Expertise City NetZero, Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences

Other Categories

The smarter E AWARD is awarded in five categories. Learn more about the four other AWARD categories:

AWARD Ceremony

Every year, the official AWARD Ceremony reveals the AWARD winners on a grand stage. The ceremony is attended by high-caliber dignitaries and brings together visitors, exhibitors, representatives and decision-makers from the international renewable energy industry, as well as national and international press representatives.

More information about the AWARD Ceremony


Mr Jörg Brücher

Phone +49 7664 5051385

Service Menu
You are using an outdated browser

The website cannot be viewed in this browser. Please open the website in an up-to-date browser such as Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.